top of page
  • Fashion Week Vanderbilt

Toro Vintage & Studio: An East Nashville Gem

As someone always on the lookout for the newest and coolest thrift store around Nashville, I got excited when a fellow VFW member and one of my best friends (shoutout Juliette Schirn) recommended Toro, a trendy thrift shop. Not only do they sell chic vintage clothing, Toro also has a studio that’s available for rentals, and they’re open 12pm-6pm every Thursday through Monday. So last week, I ventured to East Nashville to give it a try.

I will admit locating the storefront (9 S. 9th Street, Suite 2) was difficult considering the high concentration of retail establishments in the area, but eventually I identified the subtle white sign on the window that, of course, simply read “Toro”. Upon entering, I was immediately impressed by the impeccable cleanliness, immaculate organization, and edgy yet tasteful layout of the shop, showcasing every unique piece along the walls. I have never seen a shop quite like this, except for maybe on TV. A perfectly tidy thrift store. Let that sink in.

But enough about appearances, let’s get into the fashion. I spent about 45 minutes sifting through as many pieces as I could; I’m sure you all know the patience required for the thrifting process just to find a few hidden gems. I got through about 70% of the store, but unfortunately had to stop myself before my 1 hour of free parking ran out. I appreciated the high, but not overwhelming, volume and variety of apparel they had available at Toro, which helped to ease the struggle of the thrifting process. Through Toro’s careful curation of clothing, I found they’ve built an incredibly solid sweater collection complete with unique vests, staple turtlenecks, and detailed knitwear, as well as a quirky arrangement of furry coats and jackets (I had to physically restrain myself from buying everything I tried on).

Granted the store carries some higher end brands and most of their threads are in perfect condition, I will confess the prices were higher than I had anticipated. I was particularly astonished by the vintage t-shirt section– I did not find one t-shirt on sale for less than $37. Not very friendly to my broke college student budget. Why does every Nashville thrift shop insist on charging so much for shabby t-shirts?! We need answers, but that’s a discussion for another time.


While Toro is not as traditionally inexpensive as your average thrift store, I think their prices reflect the elevated shopping experience they offer and their higher standard of vintage clothing in general. They really do sell unforgettable, unique pieces that have the potential to boost your winter wardrobe. I truly enjoyed my visit here and plan to return soon, or at least once my wallet recovers. Overall, I would consider my trip to Toro a success considering I came home with a new pair of cool pants, but more importantly, I found another Nashville-based store to support when I’m on the hunt for high-quality, sustainable pieces. I hope this has inspired some of you to give it a shot too– I promise it’s worth it (minus the t-shirts)!



Written by: Sofia Lloyd





bottom of page